CND’s The Runway at American Beauty Show 2012

Can somebody pinch me?! No really! I was invited to attend CND’s Shellac Couture fashion show, The Runway, courtesy of CND and Red PR on Monday! CND’s show was literally jaw dropping. I couldn’t sit still with excitement, from snapping photos on my camera and phone, instagramming, taking notes, and trying to soak in the beautiful nails, I was busy being consumed by Shellac Couture.

The nails by CND were amazing! Totally fresh, and exciting. The actually created the looks for us right one stage, and the models know how to work a bit of nail honey! The models were beautiful, and the dresses were stunning, and of COURSE the nails were right on point.

After the show, I was invited back stage, and got to meet with Sree Roy, managing editor at Nails Magazine, and she even remembered me from the Holiday Red-dy feature back in December. She asked to take a photo for me, which was a complete honor since secretly I was hoping to sneak a photo with her! I also got to meet and chat it up with Jan Arnold, the co-founder of CND, and nail queen! Jan inspires me in so many levels, her humbleness, talent, and passion are all qualities that have clearly made her a successful nail professional! She’s the BOMB!

Backstage there were TONS (racks on racks, on racks) of embellished nails that literally made my heart flutter. It was so crazy getting to see a lot of these sets in person because I’ve lurked over many of these online, like the nails designed for The Blonds and Nicole Miller. Seeing them gleaming in person if a dream come true. Oh the perks of having a press pass to snap photos!


These corsets looked heavy, but so into the pops of colors mixed with studs, and dripping chains.

The models clearly loved the nails also. Backstage they were taking photos of each other on their iPads and working those nails for us for photos.

After the show, and the backstage sneak peek, I was invited to attend the CND workshop where we learned how to do many of these nail looks using Shellac power polish. I went home with a new UV lamp, Shellac shades, and some other nail swag! My favorite perk of using Shellac is that its 100% safe on natural nails. No etching the nail when applying, and not to mention the polish lasts with platinum shine for 2 weeks. Pinch me again!

Some of the goodies CND sent me home with.

I wandered around on the showroom floor a bit after my CND dream day, and took some photos of some of the nail booths, and mingled with the other nail professionals.


I even noticed Greg from Young Nails, and thought it was so dope how he was working the cashier desk at their station! How often do you see something like that?!

I came home to a package from CND in the mail, with even more Shellac! I’m now the proud owner of the entire Shellac collection, and can’t wait to Go Hard in the Shellac Paint! Also, there are a lot of layering options with Shellac, so the possibilities are literally endless. Be sure to book an appointment for a Shellac manicure with nail art HERE.

That was my day at the American Beauty Show, and I kind of still am wondering if this is all real life. It was amazing, and I owe a HUGE thank you to CND and Rachel Cooper over at Red PR. I’m itching to start creating.

5 Comments on “CND’s The Runway at American Beauty Show 2012

  1. I was also at the Runway and Realway show/class on Monday. I found it all to be inspiring and delightful. How lucky/fortunate you are to get a backstage pass and mingle with all of the creative minds. Thanks for sharing your pics. Did you have instructions for the nails done at the Runway? I was so busy taking pics and being awed that I never wrote them down!!

    • Hi Regina,
      They should have handed out a hand out with instructions I think. I think there may be a way to also learn on the website. I wish I could help more, I just so swamped. Please forgive me!!

      Much Love
      -Ash ❤

  2. i also do shellac but was unable to attend, what were the colors they used? and do you have anuthing closer ? thanks

    • They just showed a demo of application and removal using “Dark Pool”. Then they gave us handouts with different looks and it tells what colors were used.

Leave a Reply

